Tuesday, May 25, 2010

And the winner is...

On Saturday we all gathered in the Wellington Room at the V-Wall Tavern to find out who had won the honour to display the Founding President's Trophy for the next 12 months.

This year's genre was poetry and our honourary judge was poet Ron Pretty.

Anne Holgate presented the first Highly Commended certificate to Lyn Thiry for her poem 'Mum'.

The second Highly Commended was awarded to Carolyn Peddie for 'Library'.

The last Highly Commended certificate was awarded to Lyn Thiry for 'Pondering'.

3rd prize was awarded to Carrolline Rhodes for 'Feathers, Glass and Perfect Pitch'.

Carrolline also took out 2nd prize with her poem 'Refrains'.

And then came the big announcement for first prize. Who would it be?

It's always fabulous when the announcement comes as a total shock to the winner.

Lisa Milner was stunned to hear her name read out for first prize

for her poem 'Made to Measure'.

But we almost forgot to give her the trophy!

But now she has a firm grip on it.

After the prize ceremony, we held the AGM and a new committee was elected.

The outgoing committee were given yummy chocolates and flowers for their years of service.

No comments: